How to know know if someone has blocked you on Facebook
Having someone you know personally block you on Facebook is not just funny but embarrassing. This experience can be very unnerving.
Just like physically blocking someone access from you is a private matter and does not require you informing the other person that they’ve been blocked, Facebook makes the process of blocking someone very confidential in nature and has no tools available to help you discover whether you’ve been blocked or not.
Nevertheless, you’ve got to exhibit a little bit of detective inclination to determine if you have been blocked.
Have it at the back of your mind that merely having someone missing from your friend list does not necessarily translate you have been blocked. It may be you have been “unfriended”, the person may have willingly chosen to suspend or terminate their account or in extreme case, Facebook may have suspended their account for violation of Facebook Community Policies.
Ways to Find out who has blocked you
It may not be necessary to go looking for someone who has blocked if you don’t suspect anyone. That would be a futile effort as no place on Facebook will you find a cache of friends who have blocked you. Unlike on the previous post, ways to remove or delete a friend request you sent to someone, where you will see a list of people whom you have sent friend request, and are yet to confirm you, you can’t see a list of friends who have blocked you. You just need to a little creative and tactical.
If someone has blocked you and would rather not continue the friendship, the person’s name will most likely not show up in your account’s search results.
Type the person’s name in the search as indicated with the red arrow above, their name won’t show up in the suggested search results. Similar or exact names may appear but you will discover from the picture thumbnail that the person’s isn’t among the suggested contacts. If you don’t find the person, it’s most likely that you may have been blocked. Except in few cases as we mentioned above. The person may have unfriended you and has changed their Security Settings to prevent anyone apart from friends from searching for them.
If someone has blocked you, rather than simply discontinued your friendship, his name will not show up in your account’s search results. Try typing the person’s name in the search field at the top of your Facebook home page. If you don’t find that person, you may have been blocked. However, he may have simply changed his security settings to prevent anyone but friends from searching for him.
You may have to use another trick, toggle into your business account or a page you manage and try to search for the person again. Ask a friend to use their account and search for the name. If the person is not visible in a public search or from your business account or a page you manage, you most likely have been blocked. You have also been blocked if the person is visible in a public search either directly or through a friend’s account but not visible in a search from your account.
Your Mutual Friend List
This is also a good avenue to discover someone who has blocked you. Just navigate to the profile of someone who is a mutual friend to the person you think has blocked you. You will see a list of their current friends on their profile page. Click the “See All” link at the top of the list. Use the search field at the top of the page and type the person’s name. If the person’s profile appears, you have not been blocked. If it doesn’t appear, it’s obvious you’ve been blocked.
The Wall Posts
If you can recall a post the person has sent to your profile page, or a comment on your pictures of posts, finding them may indicate if you’ve been blocked or not. If you have been blocked, the wall post will still be visible but the person’s comments or post won’t likely be visible. If the profile is visible, the picture will be replaced with a question mark and the person’s name will be in black text and would be a dead link. You won’t be able to click on it to navigate to the person’s profile.
Share you experience and tell us if it worked for you. Use the comment section below or our social media handles.